AMESVI

The Association of Massachusetts Educators

of Students with Visual Impairments


Welcome to the Website of the Association of Massachusetts Educators of Students with Visual Impairments (AMESVI). We are celebrating our 25th year as an association of professionals who work with students with vision impairments.

Membership

Looking to join or renew your membership? Check out our membership page to learn more and to sign up!

Our Mission

Our mission is to improve and enrich the lives of students with visual impairments through advocacy, professional development, and the education of others, including members of the general public, regarding the unique educational needs of students with visual impairments.

Updates and Recent News

The next “Mondays with AMESVI” workshop will take place on January 30th at 4:30. Board member Kaitlyn Barron will be presenting “Digital Accessibility”. She will discuss Orbit Note, Google Read and Write, and other digital platforms for greater accessibility for our students. February’s “Mondays with AMESVI” workshop will take place on February 13th at 4:30. Board member Lucie Kafka has arranged for Robert Pelychaty, MCAS Accommodations and Appeals Coordinator, to meet with members to discuss MCAS procedures and accommodations. This is an opportunity to hear the latest news and ask questions! Specific links for each session with be emailed to all members!

2022-2023 AMESVI Board

If you have any questions about AMESVI, please email a member of the Board.

President: Vanessa Rosalan | President@amesvi.org

President Ex-Officio: Eileen Curran | PastPresident@amesvi.org

President Elect: Deirdre Nyberg | President-elect@amesvi.org

Treasurer: Joan Pierce | Treasurer@amesvi.org

Recording Secretary: Nita Rossow | Recording_secretary@amesvi.org

Corresponding Secretary: Amy Mason | Corresponding_secretary@amesvi.org

Western Ma Rep: Brenda Allair | WesternMA-rep@amesvi.org

Central MA Rep: Donna Mitchell | CentralMA-rep@amesvi.org

Greater Boston Rep 1: Kaitlyn Barron | Greaterboston-rep1@amesvi.org

Greater Boston Rep 2: Hope Paulos | Greaterboston-rep2@amesvi.org

Northeast Rep: Karen Barrows| Northeast-rep@amesvi.org

So.Shore/Cape: Lucie Kafka | So.shoreCape-rep@amesvi.org

Professional Development Coordinator: Nancy Sharon | Prodevco@amesvi.org

Digital Media Coordinator: Katrena Traut-Savino | Digitalmediacoordinator@amesvi.org

STORIES AND VIDEOS ABOUT OUR STUDENTS

footer